Section Menu


You must meet all the eligibility criteria to be considered.

Applicant eligibility criteria

To be eligible for a scholarship:

  • you must be an Australian citizen, permanent resident, holder of a permanent humanitarian visa or a New Zealand citizen living in Australia
  • you must not have already commenced your eligible course of study
  • your permanent home address must be in a regional or remote area as defined by the Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS).

Eligible courses of study

Eligible courses of study are those that meet the requirements below.

Eligible providers

You must propose and undertake your course of study at an eligible provider.

An eligible provider is either a:

The Department of Education and Training advises us of higher education or training providers for which issues of financial viability, quality or unethical behaviour have been identified and may, at its discretion, require that a higher education or training provider not be considered an eligible provider for the purpose of the program. 

Accredited courses

The course of study must be accredited, and the eligible provider must be accredited to deliver the qualification.

Field of Study

To be recognised as a STEM course of study, the course must be classified under one of the following Australian Standard Classification of Education (ASCED) 2001 broad fields of study:

  • Natural and physical sciences (including mathematical sciences)
  • Information and technology
  • Engineering and related technologies
  • Agriculture, environmental and related studies
  • Health (except complementary therapies)

You should confirm with your eligible provider which ASCED field of study your course is classified under.

Level of Study

The course of study must be classified at one of the following Australian Quality Framework (AQF) levels:

  • Level 4 – certificate IV
  • Level 5 – diploma
  • Level 6 – advanced diploma or associate degree
  • Level 7 – bachelor degree
  • Level 8 – bachelor honours degree, graduate certificate or graduate diploma
  • Level 9 – master degree
  • Level 10 – doctoral degree (PhD).

Commencement periods

You must commence your course of study prior to 1 July 2018 for the 2018 scholarship round, and prior to 1 July 2019 for the 2019 scholarship round.

Scholarships cannot be deferred.

Mode of study

You can study on a full-time or part-time basis. A full-time study load is as defined by the eligible provider of the eligible course of study. Part-time scholarships are reduced proportionally per semester. Visit the Benefits page for more information.

You may change from full-time to part-time study, or vice versa, with our agreement.

The mode of study may be face-to-face or online, but must be undertaken in Australia, unless we grant a special exemption (for example, to allow for a student exchange experience).

Study must be delivered in English, unless we grant a special exemption (for example, to allow for a student exchange experience).

Page last updated: 09 Aug 2018